School Board

Indian Board of Education for the Pierre Indian Learning Center

The school board of education is composed of individuals representing the Great Plains region of South Dakota, North Dakota, and Nebraska. The board is responsible for (a) establishing policy and procedures, (b) selecting and approving the employment of superintendent and all department directors, and (c) cooperate and coordinate with local, state, federal, and tribal agencies.

Board Member Tribal Affiliation Role
John Kessler Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe
Evan Hawk Crow Creek Sioux Tribe
Gordon J. Jones, Jr. Flandreau-Santee Sioux Tribe Chairman
Dr. Natalie Anderson Lower Brule Sioux Tribe
Darrell Hernandez Oglala Lakota Nation  
(vacant) Omaha Nation
Emily Boyd-Valandra Rosebud Sioux Tribe
(vacant) Santee Sioux Tribe of Nebraska  
Dr. Sherry Johnson Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate Treasurer
Sharon Georgeson Spirit Lake Nation
Frank Jamerson Standing Rock Sioux Tribe
(vacant) Mandan, Hidatsa & Arikara Nation
Betty Swain Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians
Darla LaPointe Winnebago Tribe of Nebraska Vice Chair
Everdale Song Hawk Yankton Sioux Tribe


For more information regarding school board policies and procedures, please see Indian Board of Education - PILC Policies.